Lampung Province Bank Indonesia Representative Office

Junanto Herdiawan

Director – Head of Lampung Province Bank Indonesia Representative Office



Jl. Hasanuddin No. 38
​Bandar Lampung
Telephone: (0721) 481131
Fax: (0721) 486355

Lampung province is located on the southern tip of Sumatra island, covering a land area of 35,288.35km2. Lampung is bordered to the north by South Sumatra and Bengkulu provinces, the Sunda Strait to the south, the Java Sea to the east and Indian Ocean to the west. Administratively, Lampung is subdivided into two autonomous cities and 13 regencies, with Bandar Lampung as the provincial capital. In total, Lampung consists of 227 districts and 2,463 villages.

At the beginning of Indonesian independence, Lampung was administrated as part of South Sumatra province. Lampung was established as a province on 18th March 1964 in accordance with Act No. 14 of 1964.  Since colonial times under Dutch East India Company (VOC) rule, Lampung has been known for its pepper production, attracting international merchants and traders.  Today, Lampung contributes 26.25% of total national pepper production, second only to the Bangka Belitung islands (32.85%).  In addition to pepper, plantations established under colonial rural continue to produce robusta coffee, sugarcane, rubber and palm oil, and Lampung is considered a national granary.

Kedatun Keagungan Lampung is a heritage centre established to conserve the traditional culture of Lampung on the original site of Kedatun Dipuncak, which is estimated to be around 700 years old. Kedatun Keagungan Lampung represents the heritage of Lampung’s indigenous culture, particularly Pepadun the Bernasab and Bersabab from Kedatun Dipuncak.  The building was constructed from various types of wood, including tembesu, unglen and other varieties and is located on Jalan Sultan Haji, No. 45, Sepang Jaya, Kedaton, Bandar Lampung. To prevent termite attacks, the high-quality wood is first preserved by immersing it in mud for several years.

Way Kambas National Park is a lowland rainforest ecosystem, consisting of freshwater swamp forests, grasslands and coastal forests.  The national park is home to a variety of plant species, including sal, catappa, pine and mangrove trees, along with many more. Way Kambas National Park is located on Jalan Raya Labuhan Ratu, Labuhan Ratu, East Lampung.  Despite being known for its elephants, Way Kambas National Park has various mammal species, many of which are critically endangered, including the Sumatran rhinoceros, tapir and siamang, amongst others. Rhinos are not only found in Ujung Kulon, but in Way Kambas also.  Nevertheless, the Sumatran elephant continues to dominate the Way Kambas National Park, complete with its own elephant training centre.  Wild elephants are trained to help transport goods and people, to perform and to work in the rice fields as draught animals.  Visitors to the elephant training centre can witness first-hand how wild elephants are trained, and enjoy various elephant attractions, such as tug-of-war, dancing, football, swimming, curtsey and others.  Already well established, the Elephant Training Centre at Way Kambas National Park has tamed and trained thousands of elephants.

Located in Punduh Pdada, Pesawaran, Pahawang Island is actually two islands, Pahawang Besar and Pahawang Kecil. Pahawang Island is considered a paradise for snorkellers and offers various other water sports.  On Pahawang Kecil island, a natural bridge, Tanjung Putus, connects Pahawang Kecil and Tanjung Putus islands, which is only visible and accessible during low tide before being enveloped again by high tidal waters. Pahawang Kecil island can be reached within 10 minutes from Pahawang Besar island, with most visitors staying on Pahawang Besar island, where most local residents live.

Tegal Mas Island, Lampung, is a new travel destination in Pesawaran regency that is readily accessible just 45 minutes from Bandar Lampung city before a brief 15-minute ferry crossing from Sari Ringgung beach.  The attractions include snorkelling and canoeing.  As a new travel destination, the beaches are uncrowded and unspoiled, providing a beautiful alternative travel option.

Located in Bumi Sari Natar, Tanggamus regency, Kiluan Bay (Teluk Kiluan) has become famous for its diverse marine life, including dolphins and whales, as well as scenic beauty for fishermen, with an annual competition attracting fishermen from all over the archipelago.  Situated just 73km from Lampung Airport, Kiluan Bay is a short 3-hour car journey. The area is renowned for its dolphin encounters in the open water as a passageway for two types of migrating dolphin, namely the larger common bottlenose dolphin (Tursiops Truncatus) and smaller Spinner Dolphin (Stenella Longirostris), which visit the area in their hundreds and even thousands.  The best time to see the dolphins is at 6:00AM, when the wind and waves are still calm.

The Way Lalaan Waterfall is nestled in the foothills of the cool Tanggamus Mountain, cascading around 200m from the Lalaan River that flows into Semangga Bay.  A concrete staircase built during the Dutch colonial period winds down into the valley, where rest and changing facilities are available along with parking equipment. Way Lalaan Waterfall is located on the main road between Bandar Lampung and Agung city, around 1.5 hours from Bandar Lampung.

Lake Ranau covers 144km² as a natural border between the provinces of Lampung and South Sumatra, just a 4-hour car journey from Kotabumi in North Lampung. Visitors can stay in Banding Agung on cliffs (Pusri, Putri Gunung and others) overlooking the lake.  Several of the cliffs contain mineral hot springs originating in the foothills of Mount Seminung on the south side of the lake, where tobacco plantations once flourished under Dutch colonial rule.

​​1) Brief History

The Bank Indonesia Branch Office in Teluk Betung (Bandar Lampung) was officially inaugurated on 2nd December 1961 as employees moved into the main building for which construction began in July 1959.  At that time, Lampung was administratively still a Residency of South Sumatra province but the Lampung branch office was the first of 13 opened by Bank Indonesia between 1959-1996 during the era of guided democracy. In 1964, when Lampung was established as a province in its own right, Bank Indonesia provided transactional services and facilitated the flow of funds for infrastructure development in the province. 

​As activities at the Bank Indonesia Representative Office in Lampung began to increase, the building’s capacity was no longer adequate and, coupled with the relative old age of the building, in 2010 development of a new building began in the grounds of the existing building with an area of 13,819 m².  Development of the four-storey building with a floor area of 11,700 m² began with a groundbreaking ceremony on 19th February 2010 by the Governor of Lampung province, Sjahroedin ZP, and Deputy Governor of Bank Indonesia, Ardhayadi Mitroatmodjo.  The new building was officially opened on 20th December 2012 by the then Deputy Governor of Bank Indonesia, Ronald Waas.

2) Organisational Structure and HR 
In accordance with Circular Letter No. 18/82/INTERN, dated 30th September 2016, the organisational structure of the Bank Indonesia Representative Office in Lampung is as follows:​

Other Articles