Bengkulu Province Bank Indonesia Representative Office


Deputy Director – Head of Bengkulu Province Bank Indonesia Representative Office




​Jl. Jend. Ahmad Yani No. 1
​Bengkulu, ​38116
Telephone: (0736) 21736
Fax: (0736) 21735

Bengkulu was formed on 18th November 1968 as a level-1 province and the 26th Indonesian province, encompassing Enggano Island, Tikus Island and Mega Island as outlying islands of western Indonesia. 

Bengkulu province is located on the southwest coast of Sumatra, running longitudinally from north to south with the Barisan Mountains to the east and the Indian Ocean to the west. The province spans 21,089.38km² or 2,108,938ha with the following borders:

1. West Sumatra province to the north;
2. Jambi and South Sumatra provinces to the east;
3. Indian Ocean to the west; and
4. Lampung Province to the south.

Agriculture, wholesale and retail trade as well as government administration services dominate the economy of Bengkulu, accounting for more than 50% of the total and absorbing most labour in the province.

The main commodities produced in Bengkulu include palm oil, rubber and coal.  Most palm oil plantations are located in the northern part of the province with relatively few in the south.  Most palm oil produced in Bengkulu is absorbed by the local market rather than exported, with India, China, Malaysia and Europe the main export destinations.

Rubber is the second-largest commodity produced in Bengkulu after palm oil, with most rubber plantations privately owned.  Most rubber from Bengkulu is processed into SIR-20, with some processed into Ribbed Smoked Sheets (RSS).  Furthermore, most rubber is sold to the export market, which is dominated by the United States.  Downstream rubber processing in Bengkulu remains suboptimal, with local production limited to SIR-20 and Ribbed Smoked Sheets. Since rubber prices began to decrease in the 2010s, land expansion has declined.

Coal is a major commodity in Bengkulu, after agriculture, with most mines located in North Bengkulu, Seluma and Central Bengkulu regencies. Coal in Bengkulu is a mixture of low and high-calorie coal. Low-calorie coal is primarily found in North Bengkulu and Seluma, which is typically utilised as a source of energy in steam-electric power plants and exported to the Philippines and China.  Meanwhile, high-calorie coal deposits are located in Central Bengkulu, particularly in Taba Penanjung. 
Bengkulu province is endowed with a bounty of travel destinations, including historical, natural and cultural attractions as follows:

1. The house of Soekarno’s exile in Bengkulu city;
2. Fort Marlborough in Bengkulu city (English heritage fort established by the East India Company (IEC) between 1714-1719;
3. Thomas Parr monument in Bengkulu city (monument dedicated to Thomas Parr, a British resident of Bengkulu in 1807);
4. First Lady Fatmawati’s family home in Bengkulu city (the family home of inaugural First Lady, where Fatmawati sewed the heirloom red-and-white flag of Indonesia (Bendera Pusaka) in 1945); and
5. Jamik mosque in Bengkulu city (mosque designed by Soekarno during his exile in Bengkulu and built in the 1940s). 

1. Dol Music and Dance
The rhythmic beat of this instrument conjures up its own excitement. The drumming produced by this musical instrument injects life and energy into any performance.  This is the Dol, a drum unique to Bengkulu, which is usually played together in groups.

2. Tabut Festival
Bengkulu Tabut Festival, which began in 1685, has now been included in the Calendar of Events (CoD) of Wonderful Indonesia.  The unique festival is always held from 1-10 Muharram to welcome the new Islamic year to commemorate the struggle, heroism and death of the prophet Muhammad SAW.

1. Panjang Beach;
2. Rafflesia flowers;
3. Tikus (Rat) Island;
4. Kabawetan Tea plantation;
5. Mangrove Forest;
6. Arum Jeram Lebong;
7. Suban Hot Spring; and
8. Laguna Beach.

Built in 1972, the Bank Indonesia Representative Office in Bengkulu is located on Jalan Jendral Ahmad Yani, No.1, and was officially opened on 14th September 1974 by Rahmat Saleh, the Bank Indonesia Governor at the time.  R. Husni Djojosoemitro was the first head of the Bank Indonesia Representative Office in Bengkulu province, with a staff of around 28.  The office in Bengkulu is one of 13 representative offices located in Sumatra, covering nine regencies and one city as follows:

1. Bengkulu city;
2. North Bengkulu regency (Capital: Arga Makmur);
3. South Bengkulu regency (Capital: Manna);
4. Muko-Muko regency (Capital: Mukomuko);
5. Rejang Lebong regency (Capital: Curup);
6. Seluma regency (Capital: Tais);
7. Kaur regency (Capital: Bintuhan);
8. Lebong regency (Capital: Tubei);
9. Kepahiang regency (Capital: Kepahiang); and
10. Bengkulu regency (Capital: Karang Tinggi).

The Bank Indonesia Representative Office in Bengkulu province is a C-class representative office coordinated by the Regional Department and Coordinating Office for Sumatra region located in Medan.  The organisational structure consists of two teams overseeing seven units and functions.​

Other Articles